Tags

, , ,

Well, how are you all doing? Well, better, or hanging in there at least, I hope.

I think – or more truly, I’m cautiously optimistic – that the new meds may be helping.  Why, you ask? Well, yesterday was a pretty OK day. Nothing much to report really, but I did get a few things done and I didn’t feel anxious at all! Today is looking similar even though my boss just got back from a conference with the depressing news that our industry is suffering badly from the economic downturn and no one sees an end in sight.  Somehow that didn’t send me into a tail spin…so that’s a good sign, I’d say.

I finished the Brene Brown book (The Gifts of Imperfection) and I’m sure I’ll be reading that again – have to integrate these words of wisdom into my psyche.  Say it with me, people:  “I am worthy of love.  I am enough.”  Of course, that doesn’t stop me wanting to be/do more, but it is a good reminder that even if I fail, I’m still good enough.  Not trying, not THAT’S a fail!!  My two favorite movie quotes for when I feel stressed or overwhelmed:

1.  “Just keep swimming!” Dori, Finding Nemo

2.  “Baby steppin’ to the (fill in the blank)…” Bob, What About Bob?

Some days that’s all we can do, and that is OK.  As long as we don’t quit, there’s always the chance that tomorrow will be better/your meds will kick in/something great is around the corner, etc.

My big challenge will come tomorrow when I’m home alone with nowhere to be.  I have 2 baby quilts which I had originally promised would be finished in time for Christmas delivery…which is just NOT gonna happen! Still, I can work hard on them this weekend and make progress in the right direction.  And, of course, there’s always house work…and my dog would be so happy if I made time to take her to the dog park before she gets another bath.  So I hope the mood continues to improve and I can get some of this done.  I will try hard, that’s all I can do!

