Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, I’ve got good news and bad news today:  The bad news first? Well, I called in “sick” to work yesterday…just couldn’t force myself to come in.  In my defense, it’s been really slow lately, so I don’t think it caused any major problems on the work front.  However, I should have no problem getting up and going to work in the morning like everyone else, right? So, I spent most of the day in bed and the rest of the day on the couch in front of the TV…Really, NOT my best day.

The good news?  Well, I feel better today. I got up, took a shower, made it to work (not quite on time, but…I’ll do better tomorrow), and upon checking my new blog I find that people have been reading and responding to it!  I knew it wasn’t just me!! Why do I feel better today?  Sleep helps, of course, but I think the big thing is that I was reading while I was in bed yesterday, letting my wheels turn, and remembering some of the very important things I need to do to feel better.  Mind you, these things work for me – they might not work for everyone, but I really don’t think they’ll hurt either.

1.  Read and practice the grounding and strengthening your boundaries exercises in Karla McLaren’s The Language of Emotions.  If I had had this book in my 20s, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have spent all that money on therapy!  I have a sneaking suspicion that many of us depressed people are also empaths (I know I am!) and the world at large can just be too much for us at times.  Grounding REALLY, REALLY helps with the anxiety and it’s sooooo easy to do. Strengthening our boundaries? EVERYONE needs to do this! We could all have happier lives if everyone did…My favorite thing about Karla’s book is that she looks at emotions as tools – not good or bad.  I mean, these things happen within us all, naturally, so they can’t be “bad” or “wrong”.  They must have a purpose, and Karla tells us what that purpose is and how to deal with these sometimes difficult emotions, not how to banish or deny them. Really, I recommend this book to everyone.  It’s not majorly new age-y, hippie, woo woo stuff, it’s practical information for anyone with a mind, heart and soul.

2.  Look for the little good parts in each day and give your attention to them.  I almost thought this blog was a bad idea because writing about my crazy is almost like wallowing in it a bit, giving it a bigger part in my life than I would like it to have.  I firmly believe that we create our own reality to an extent by choosing what/who we give our time and attention to.  If you always focus on the bad things, they because bigger in your mind and you may miss out on or forget to notice the good things.  I live in a beautiful place, so that’s often the good part in my day.  I’m driving to or from work and I look at a tree or the sky or something and just thank my deity for it.  Taking those few seconds to really focus on something that makes me happy just magnifies that experience and makes me feel better.

I know it’s hard. I know some days you just can’t get out of bed. Me too.  But we can’t quit because, look – yesterday I was a mess and today I feel a lot better!! In fact, I think this is the best I’ve felt in a few weeks.  Maybe I’ve turned a corner, maybe I just need to practice my grounding more often, maybe I am having a Spiritual Awakening…the only way to find out is to keep going.

